Skip to content

New CC Board of Elections to be sworn Thursday


     A new Columbus County Board of Elections will take office Thursday.

     Members nominated by the political parties and approved by the State Board of Elections, and a chair appointed by Gov. Roy Cooper will be sworn at 11 a.m. at the Board of Elections office in Whiteville, Director Carla Strickland said Tuesday.

     Bonita Blackney, who served as vice-chair of the county elections board in 2018, has been appointed by the governor to chair the board, Strickland said.

     JoAnn Garrell will be the only other veteran to return to the board, a Republican appointee joined by Bonnie Inman. Democratic appointees, in additional to Blackney, are Katherine Horne and Brenda Blanks Ebron.

     Look for more on this story in this week’s Tabor-Loris Tribune in print and online.