Skip to content

County Council chair election is Tuesday

    Candidates for Horry County Council Chairman face the voters Tuesday, March 12, with the deadline for absentee ballots a day earlier.
    Candidates for the post vacated by Tom Rice, who was elected to Congress, include Conway residents Liz Gilland and Fonzie Lewis, Al Allen of Aynor, Debbie Harwell of North Myrtle Beach, and Mark Lazarus of Myrtle Beach.
    There is no early voting in South Carolina. Absentee voting requirements are available from the Board of Elections.
    Polls will open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m. Tuesday and registered voters waiting in line at 7 p.m. will still be allowed to vote.
    Registered voters will be required to show any one of five forms of identification in order to vote: South Carolina driver’s license, South Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles identification card, voter’s registration card with picture, Federal military identification with picture or a United States passport.
    Curbside voting will also available for any voter, because of a physical handicap or aged 65 or older who cannot enter the polling place may vote outside of the polling place in their car.
    Unofficial results from the election will be posted on Horry County’s website at immediately after the results are tallied.
    A runoff election, if required, will be held on Tuesday, March 26.

Leave a Comment