Skip to content

Harrelson wins Loris mayor again, Padgett tops council vote, incumbents re-elected

Newly re-elected Loris Mayor Todd Harrelson gets a hug from granddaughter Jenna Dean. (Jenn Causey, TLT)


     Todd Harrelson won election as Loris Mayor for the third time this year Tuesday, with former city attorney Carroll Padgett claiming a two year term on council in a special election for the seat Harrelson vacated.

     Incumbents Joan Gause, Lewis Hardee and Jan Vescovi retained their seats on council in the regular election, political newcomer Veda Nichols finishing not far behind in fourth place in the race for three seats.

     Vote totals were unofficial Tuesday night, and won’t be official until the canvas is held at 10:30 a.m. Thursday.

Loris City Council winners include Lewis Hardee, Carroll Padgett, and Jan Vescovi. (Jenn Causey, TLT)

By the numbers

     Election results were delayed Tuesday night due to some mechanical issues with new voting machines, and an unusually large number of absentee ballots that were counted by hand.

     Harrelson was challenged by council veteran Michael Suggs, as he was in a special election and run-off earlier this year for the seat vacated when Mayor Henry Nichols died.

     Harrelson claimed 308 votes, Suggs 251.

     In the race for the three four-year term seats on council the votes were Hardee, 365; Gause, 336; Vescovi, 308; Nichols, 279.

     In the race for the two-year council seat the vote was Padgett, 369; Ricky Dew, 191.

     Look for more on the election in tomorrow’s Tabor-Loris Tribune in print and online.