Skip to content

Quiet: Election day in TC Tuesday


    Quiet, you’ll disturb potential voters.
    An all-but-silent municipal election season in Tabor City ends Tuesday as voters will choose from three candidates to fill two seats on the Town Council.
    Early voting, held at the Columbus County Board of Elections office in Whiteville, ended Saturday with only three casting ballots in the Tabor City races.
    Incumbents Miona Fonvielle and Nelson Lee are challenged by former councilman David Mincey in this year’s election, while Mayor Royce Harper is unopposed for re-election.
    Polls open at the District Court Building on West 4th Street at 6:30 a.m., and close at 7:30 p.m.
    Look for election results here Tuesday night, with a wrap-up in Wednesday’s Tabor-Loris Tribune in print and online.

Other races
    Other municipal races in Columbus County to be decided Tuesday include:
•    Chadbourn – Phillip C. Britt is unopposed for mayor in his first political bid while incumbents Edwin L. Roberts, James Green and Brian Edwards are challenged by Jay Suggs Jr.l, Colene “Tootie” Kelly and Donald Ray Bass for three council seats. Bass is the current mayor.
•    Cerro Gordo – Incumbent mayor David White is unopposed; incumbent Daniel Jenkins and David Prince are up for two seats on council.
•    Fair Bluff – Incumbents Carl Meares Jr. and Jack Meares are unopposed for re-election as town commissioners.
•    Whiteville – Incumbent Mayor Terry Mann is unopposed; District 1 council incumbents Robert B. Leder and Sara B. Thompson are challenged by Emory Worley; husband and wife Elgin Collier and Shanequa Collier are seeking the District 2 seat now held by Jimmy Clarida, who is not seeking re-election.
•    Brunswick – Incumbents Everlene and Jackie Williams Rowland are challenged by Queen Hawkins and Nancy H. Hill for two town commissioner seats.
•    Lake Waccamaw – Incumbent Jimmy Stanley is unopposed for his East Ward town commissioner seat; incumbent Lee Collum is challenged by Kevin A. Butler and Frank Carroll for the West Ward seat.
•    Bolton – Incumbent Mayor Shawn Maynor is unopposed; incumbents Geraldine Bellamy, Ruth Waddell and Eugene Thomas Neal Jr. are challenged by Tony Freeman for three seats on council.
•    Sandyfield – Incumbent Gary “Pete” Keaton is unopposed for re-election as mayor; incumbent council members Joe Brown, Azalie Graham and Claudie Bray are unopposed.

Leave a Comment